Calling all screenwriters!  The Baltimore Film Office is now accepting entries for the 10th annual Baltimore Screenwriters Competition.  Applicants can submit in the feature or shorts categories.  The top entries in both categories win cash prizes, all access passes to the 2015 Maryland Film Festival, and passes to local movie theaters.  The deadline for submission is Tuesday, January 20, 2015 by 5pm.  An application and guidelines are available online at  The competition is designed to create awareness of screenplays as a literary art form and to encourage new screenwriters into the entertainment industry.  The Baltimore Screenwriters Competition is a project of the Baltimore Film Office at the Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts, in conjunction with film programs at Johns Hopkins University and Morgan State University.  Funding is provided by Morgan State University.  Additional support is courtesy of the Maryland Film Festival, NEXTCAR and Visit Baltimore.

The Baltimore Screenwriters Competition is open to all screenwriters.  Submitted scripts receive critiques by local screenwriters and producers with final screenplays judged by film industry professionals.  The 2015 judges are longtime screenwriter and UCLA Professor of Screenwriting Lew Hunter (“Fallen Angel,” “Goldie and the Boxer Go to Hollywood,” “Desperate Lives”), Emmy-winning writer Norman Steinberg (“Blazing Saddles,” “My Favorite Year”) and producer Nina Noble (“Treme,” “The Wire”).  Winners of the competition are announced during the Maryland Film Festival on Saturday, May 9, 2015

In the feature category, the first place winner receives $1,500, an all access pass to the 2015 Maryland Film Festival, a Weekend in Baltimore Package, a rental car for the weekend and passes to area movie theaters.  The second place winner receives $750, an all access pass to the festival and movie passes.  The third place winner receives $350, an all access pass to the festival and movie passes.  In the shorts category, winners will receive cash prizes.

For more information on the Baltimore Screenwriters Competition, call 410-752-8632 or

The Baltimore Film Office is a division of the Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts.